Pensamientos.

El otro día, estuve leyendo un versículo en la Biblia en Marcos 6 que me hizo pensar y contemplar:

7 Entonces Jesús llamó a los doce y comenzó a enviarlos

de dos en dos, dándoles autoridad (poder) sobre

los espíritus inmundos; 8 y les ordenó que no llevaran

nada para el camino, sino sólo un bordón; ni pan, ni

alforja[d], ni dinero en el cinto;9 sino calzados con sandalias.

“No lleven dos túnicas[e],” les dijo. 10 Y añadió:“Dondequiera

que entren en una casa, quédense en ella hasta que

salgan de la población[f].

Que interesante que Jesús incluyó las cosas lo más básicos que nos importan — la comida, el dinero, el amparo, y la ropa — en esta mandato a sus discípulos. Me hizo pensar inmediatamente sobre cómo estoy viviendo ahorita, y si estoy siguiendo a su modelo. Hay dos cosas que vi en esta sección: 1) Dios no quiere que nosotros estemos preocupados sobre los básicos. 2) Dios desea que vivamos en fe, confiando en la promesa que él va a proveer para nosotros durante todos los tiempos. El desea que nosotros pasemos nuestros días en proacción, viviendo sin esperar para lo que queremos, sino actuando por fe.

Me puse pensar sobre lo que mi vida parecería si viviera según a su consejo. Primero, yo sé que sería una persona más tranquila y calmada y serena (¿qué genial sería?). No actuaría desde mis propios temores, más bien, me enfocaría más en los asuntos que los demás. Si no pensara en todos mis problemas durante el día entero, tendría mucho más tiempo y energía a ayudar y servir a mi esposo, familia, estudiantes, compañeros de trabajo y mi comunidad. También, si no fuera tan estresada (consciente o inconscientemente), mi cuerpo sería más relajado y sin tanta tensión, lo cual, a su vez, es mejor para la salud mental y física.

Últimamente (y lo más importante), si seguiera este versículo, abriría las puertas para ver Dios en acción, porque el es Dios (no importa nuestra circunstancia).    


The other day, while I was reading from Mark 6, it made think and contemplate on a couple of things:

And he called the twelve and began to send them out two by two, and gave them authority over the unclean spirits. He charged them to take nothing for their journey except a staff—no bread, no bag, no money in their belts— but to wear sandals and not put on two tunics.[a] 10 And he said to them, “Whenever you enter a house, stay there until you depart from there.

How interesting that Jesus included the most basic items that we worry about – food, money, shelter, & clothing – in this command to his disciples. It made me immediately think about how I am living right now and if I am following after His model. There are two things I see in this section: 1) God does not desire for us to be worried about the basics. 2) God desires that we live in faith, trusting in the promise that He is going to provide for us in every season. He desires for us to live each day in pro-action, living without simply waiting for what we want, rather acting by faith.

It made me think about how my life would be if I were to live according to His example and command. First, I know that I would be a much more relaxed, calm, and stress-free person (how great would that be?!). I would not act from my own fears, rather I would invest more in the needs of others. If I were to not think about all of my own issues and problems during the entire day, I would have much more time and energy to help and serve my husband, family, students, co-workers, and community. Also, if I were not so stressed (consciously and unconsciously), my body would be less tense, which is the best for both physical and mental health.

Ultimately (and most importantly),  if I were to truly follow this verse, it would open up the doors to see God in action, because He is God (no matter our circumstances).

One thought on “Pensamientos.

  1. Don Hallum says:

    Great post Sallie Dear!!! You get it! You explained it in such a simple and straight forward way that is easy to comprehend…We can say, (to borrow a quote from a famous someone from the past, “What? Me worry?), We haven’t a care, because we cast them upon Him, in faith believing…taking Him at His Word, which is the very essence of live! (couldn’t resist that word “essence”)

    Like

Leave a Reply

